Home  /  Newsletter   /  AAMA Names Montgomery, AL Mayor Steven L. Reed as President 

AAMA Names Montgomery, AL Mayor Steven L. Reed as President 

The African American Mayors Association (AAMA) is excited to announce Montgomery, Alabama Mayor Steven L. Reed has been appointed as President to lead the national nonprofit organization. Mayor Reed was officially sworn in on Friday, April 26 at the conclusion of AAMA’s 10th anniversary conference in Atlanta, Georgia.

“As we usher in a new decade of the African American Mayors Association, I am thrilled to welcome Mayor Steven L. Reed as President of our organization. Mayor Reed brings a wealth of experience and creative solutions to the table and we’re excited to see what he accomplishes for our cities and communities,” said AAMA CEO, Phyllis Dickerson. “I also want to thank Mayor Patterson-Howard for her tremendous service and leadership this past year.”

“I am honored to accept the challenge of representing the unique needs and interests of our communities, big and small, to the White House, Congress, and others over the next year,” said Montgomery Mayor Steven L. Reed. “I am committed to harnessing the collective strengths of our members nationwide to drive meaningful policy changes. We will work together to address critical issues such as public safety, economic development, and health equity to ensure that our regions not only thrive but also offer a higher quality of life.”

In addition to announcing its 2024 President, AAMA also approved its Board of Trustees during the Annual Conference:

1st Vice President – Mayor Byron Brown (Buffalo, NY)
2nd Vice President – Mayor Wayne Messam (Miramar, FL)
Treasurer – Mayor Van Johnson (Savannah, GA)
Secretary – Mayor Sharon Weston Broome (Baton Rouge, LA)
Immediate Past President – Mayor Shawyn Patterson-Howard (Mt. Vernon, NY)
Past President – Mayor Frank Scott, Jr. (Little Rock, AR)
Board Member – Mayor Errick Simmons (Greenville, MS)
Board Member – Mayor Tishaura Jones (St. Louis, MO)
Board Member – Mayor Brandon Scott (Baltimore, MD)
Board Member – Mayor Eric Adams (New York, NY)
Board Member – Mayor LaToya Cantrell (New Orleans, LA)
Board Member – Mayor Vince Williams (Union City, GA)
Board Member – Mayor Vi Lyles (Charlotte, NC)
Board Member – Mayor Phillip Jones (Newport News, VA)
Board Member – Mayor Victoria Woodards (Tacoma, WA)
Board Member – Mayor Adrian Mapp (Plainfield, NJ)